kieronquane

What makes people feel entitled to take what isn’t theirs? May 29, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — kieronquane @ 2:59 pm

A few months ago I came home to see several police cars lining the street in front of my house, and an officer walking away through my front yard.  As I pulled up, he told me that my neighbor’s house had been broken into.  He had checked my house, and from the outside it appeared to be secure.  I was still a bit unnerved as I walked in.  As I looked at my kitchen, I let out a sigh of relief as I realized that the completely trashed chaotic environment was a product of my kids, and not some burglar.  I wouldn’t be surprised if they had peeked in my house, thought that someone already had “hit” it, and walked next door.  That, of course leads to an entirely different story…

The other thought I had came back to me today, as I was reading a friend’s Facebook post.  She returned home after running some errands, and found that not only had her home been broken into, but the perp was still in the house.  Fortunately, he ran out the back door before she had completely entered the home.  But reading it caused me to raise a question, once again, what is it that makes someone feel that they are entitled to bust through someone’s door (or window), enter their home, and take their personal belongings?  It is a question that has been gnawing at me for some time, and I still can’t seem to find the answer.  I have worked hard to get where I am.  So has my neighbor.  So has my friend.  But to be told that a “professional” robbed the house next door is very wrong.  Professional??  Doctors are professionals.  Attorneys are professionals.  Teachers are professionals.  But a bum who is too lazy to educate themselves to the point that they can provide for themselves and others, and instead resorts to stealing – well, all I can say is that the word I would use to describe them is definitely NOT “professional”.

 

Leave a Reply

